top of page

Possible Fix for Rtcw SP Lag!

Hello everyone. As you all know, Windows 7 and Windows 8 tend to have lag issues with Rtcw SP, especially if these operating systems have an ATI/AMD graphics card. In addition to the fix of typing /r_primitives 2 into the console (while in-game), I have found something else that seems to help even more.

Look at the screenshot below.

As you can see, I've added something to Rtcw SP's shortcut (on the desktop). The 1 forces my computer to run Rtcw SP with just 1 core, since my computer has 2 cores. If anyone is having lag issues, then try this:

1. Type /r_primitives 2 into the Rtcw console while you are in the game. Doing it from the main menu will work too.

2. Rename the game's .exe file from WolfSP.exe to quake3.exe

3. Set Rtcw to run on 1 core, like in the screenshot above.

I quickly tested this while recording a test video with Fraps, and the fps stayed around 55-60, with 60 being the maximum fps. It seems that my lag issues with recording Rtcw videos with Fraps will finally go away now. Let's hope so.

EDIT: Apparently I was wrong. I am still receiving lag spikes while recording Rtcw SP videos with Fraps, but the lag is slightly less worse than previously. Let's hope that when I get a Nvidia graphics card, the lag will finally go away forever.

That's all for this update. I hope that this will be helpful to some of you. Thanks for your interest.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page